New Female Directors Part 1

This week we wanted to take a moment and share some work from ladies who are directing and making their own projects even though you may not have heard of them yet.

These works showcase the talent and capability of up and coming women in the film industry and hopefully if you give their work your support and attention it can go towards making a bigger change in the long run.

pexels-photo-66134.jpeg

In this post I want to share the work of Anna Waters-Massey who created an internet web series called Stage Mum’s. Writing, starring and directing the show at its beginning Anna passed the directing torch to her daughter Cleo for season 2 and with a clearly successful run so far the show is currently in pre-production for its 3rd series. To find out more visit the website www.stagemums.com

“Shaz and Trace are besties with ‘super talented, triple threat’ teenage daughters, Shenaya and Abcde. They are bogan, Aussie Stage Mums who tackle all the important issues: pretentious kids, obnoxious parents, eisteddfods, social media, dodgy castings and Sav Blanc. In a world full of wannabes, where everyone wants to be famous, these Mums will go to any lengths to give their daughters opportunities to showcase their ‘amazing talents’,  most of which don’t work out exactly as planned.”

Q: What made you want to become a filmmaker?

A: I started writing, producing and directing my own work is because of the struggles I faced as an older actress. I use the term older loosely because I don’t class myself as old.

For me to be able to direct Stage Mums and see my creation come to life was a great experience. My daughter Cleo Massey, who has acted since age 11, co directed then stepped up to directing the second season. That was a wonderful experience and she relished being able to boss me around.

Q: Have you had any bad experiences or struggles during the process?

A: As a performer both acting and singing, I have always created my own projects. As I got older I found the roles for women over 40 were so lacking not just in existence but in substance, so I decided to write my own and take charge of my career. Sadly there are many roles for young beautiful women but as we get older they drop off, yet the males still get meaty roles no matter their age.

Q: What are some of your favourite female filmmakers?

A: I’m a huge fan of comedic women in film who take control in writing, producing and directing, such as Amy Poehler, Kristen Wiig, French and Saunders and our Aussie ladies Robyn Butler and more recently Rebecca Gibney and her wonderful work on Wanted. Also Jocelyn Moorehouse and Sue Maslin as I adored The Dressmaker.

Q: Whats new in season 3?

A: Season 3 is in pre production and we are excited to have Louise Alston (All My Friends Are Leaving Brisbane, Neighbours, Jucy) joining us as Director. I have admired Louise’s work and drive in the industry since I worked with her 10 years ago on a short film, Humidity Rising, so am thrilled to have her join us on Stage Mums.

Thank-you to Anna for letting us share her work. To give Stage Mums your support visit their website or you can subscribe to the web series directly from their Youtube channel here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

